NASCAR: Kyle Busch Wins Enjoy Illinois 300 at Gateway – Full Race Results


2023 Enjoy the Illinois 300 at Gateway – Race Results
Pos Driver Crew Maker
1 Kyle Busch Richard Childress Racing Chevy
2 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Race Toyota
3 Joey Logan Team Penske Ford
4 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports Chevy
5 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Race Toyota
6 ryan blaney Team Penske Ford
7 Daniel Suarez TrackHouse Racing Chevy
8 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevy
9 Michael McDowell Motorsports in the front row Ford
ten Kevin Harvick Stewart Haas Racing Ford
11 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Race Toyota
12 Chris Buescher RFK race Ford
13 Austin Cindric Team Penske Ford
14 AJ Allmendinger Kaulig race Chevy
15 Todd Gilliland Motorsports in the front row Ford
16 Justin Haley Kaulig race Chevy
17 Ryan Precece Stewart Haas Racing Ford
18 Erik Jones Legacy Motor Club Chevy
19 Aric Almirola Stewart Haas Racing Ford
20 Ty Gibbs Joe Gibbs Race Toyota
21 Corey Joy Hendrick Motorsports Chevy
22 Ross Chestnut TrackHouse Racing Chevy
23 Harrison Burton Race of the Wood Brothers Ford
24 JJ Yeley Rick Ware Racing Ford
25 Ty Dillon Spire Motorsports Chevy
26 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevy
27 BJ McLeod Fast Motorsport Live Chevy
28 Brad Keselowski RFK race Ford
29 Gray Gauls Rick Ware Racing Ford
30 Bubba Wallace 23XI Race Toyota
31 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevy
32 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing Chevy
33 Noah Gragson Legacy Motor Club Chevy
34 Chasing Briscoe Stewart Haas Racing Ford
35 Tyler Red Dick 23XI Race Toyota
36 Carson Hocevar Spire Motorsports Chevy
See also  Spurs are nonetheless eyeing the 3-4-3 sample as a slot machine different

It took a while to get there, but Kyle Busch finally swept the weekend away at World Wide Technology Raceway, winning the race from pole position. This is the third victory of the season for the Richard Childress Racing driver, and the one he absolutely wanted. Busch led 66 laps in the inaugural race at Gateway last year but finished second behind Joey Logano. Today, Busch took the win, while Logano settled for 3rd place for Team Penske.

Denny Hamlin bounced back from a brutal Coca-Cola 600 last weekend when he was deliberately knocked out by Chase Elliott, sending him headfirst into the wall into the dogleg at Charlotte Motor Speedway. His second place finish today lifted the spirits of the team as they continue to seek their first win of the season. Kyle Larson was battling up front on the last few restarts but ended up finishing 4th while Martin Truex Jr had another strong run and rounded out the top five.

Ryan Blaney followed up his victory last weekend with a 6th place finish today while Daniel Suarez secured a well deserved 7th place finish for Trackhouse Racing. William Byron continued his strong season with another top ten finish. It is the sixth consecutive top ten for Byron, who had not finished worse than 7th since the April 16 race at Martinsville. Michael McDowell rode an excellent race for Front Row Motorsports to finish 9th, while Kevin Harvick rounded out the top ten on Sunday.

See also  Mercedes still has 'much more to do' to make F1 competitive

This race was all about red flags and broken brake discs. The race started with a crash on lap 3 followed by a nearly two hour wait for lightning in the St Louis area. Once the race restarted, several riders had problems with the brake discs which sent them hard against the outside wall. It was a tough afternoon for 23XI Racing as Tyler Reddick spun in the opening laps of the race and then again towards the end to finish 35th. Teammate Bubba Wallace was five laps away from scoring another top ten before a brake disc failed on his #23 Toyota, putting a damper on his day.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr was another rider who was having a solid run before fate intervened. He was recovered in a late-race incident, sending him to a 32nd-place finish despite racing in the top ten for most of the day. Corey LaJoie did an admirable job replacing the suspended Chase Elliott, finishing 21st for the Hendrick Motorsports organization.

Previous Gateway Winners

2022: Joey Logano


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this