IndyCar: Full Drivers’ Championship standings after Alex Palou wins Detroit Grand Prix


With another victory in his pocket, Alex Palou consolidates his lead in the drivers’ championship standings. After winning the Chevrolet Grand Prix in Detroit from pole today, Palou takes a 51-point lead going into the next race at Road America. Chip Ganassi Racing drivers take the top two spots, while Marcus Ericsson takes second place. A third CGR Honda lurks in fourth, which is six-time series champion Scott Dixon.

Defending Indianapolis 500 winner Josef Newgarden is now third in the standings as he chases his third series title. The Team Penske driver would be far superior in recent years, but the Indy 500 no longer earns double points. Newgarden is the only Penske driver currently in the top six in the standings.

Arrow McLaren sits in positions five and six in the standings with drivers Pato O’Ward and Alexander Rossi. The two had opposing race days in Detroit, with Rossi cracking the top five and O’Ward bottom of the pack after crashing. The races have been tough for Pato, who led the championship earlier this season.

Andretti Autosport’s first driver is Colton Herta in ninth place. Romain Grosjean and Kyle Kirkwood are not far behind in 11th and 12th, but all three drivers have had a bumpy season so far. Rookie Marcus Armstrong is 17th in the standings. Although he has raced in two fewer races, he is currently ahead of full-time drivers Graham Rahal, David Malukas, Conor Daly, Devlin DeFrancesco, Helio Castroneves, Jack Harvey, Agustin Canapino, Simon Pagenaud, Benjamin Pedersen and Sting Ray Robb .

See also  Draymond Green says players are protecting their shooting percentage in the playoffs
2023 INDYCAR Series Championship Standings
Pos Driver Crew Maker Points
1 Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 273
2 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 222
3 Joseph Newgarden Team Penske Chevy 203
4 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 194
5 Pato O’Ward Arrow McLaren Chevy 191
6 Alexandre Rossi Arrow McLaren Chevy 176
7 Scott McLaughlin Team Penske Chevy 175
8 Will Team Penske Chevy 172
9 Colton Herta Andretti Autosport Honda 149
ten Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren Chevy 148
11 Romain Grosjean Andretti Autosport Honda 145
12 Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport Honda 142
13 Christian Lundgard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 136
14 Ilott Callum Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevy 116
15 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Race Chevy 108
16 Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt Race Chevy 105
17 Marcus Armstrong Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 101
18 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 99
19 David Malukas Dale Coyne Race Honda 91
20 Conor Daly Ed Carpenter Race Chevy 88
21 Devlin De Francesco Andretti Autosport Honda 81
22 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing Honda 80
23 Jack Harvey Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 78
24 Augustin Canapino Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevy 77
25 Simon Pagenaud Meyer Shank Racing Honda 72
26 Benjamin Pedersen AJ Foyt Race Chevy 61
27 Sting Ray Robb Dale Coyne Race Honda 55
See also  Bid for £34m-rated participant on horizon for Manchester United


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this